60th Annual Juried Competition

The Masur Museum of Art Presents
60th Annual Juried Competition
Sponsored by The Northeast Louisiana Arts Council

Juror: Jovanna Venegas, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
Exhibition on view February 23 – May 6, 2023
Public Reception on March 9, 2023 from 5:30-7:30 PM.

About the Exhibition
The Masur Museum of Art’s Annual Juried Competition showcases contemporary artists throughout the United States of America working in any medium. First started in 1964, the Annual Juried Competition is the Masur Museum’s longest-running tradition and one of its best-reviewed exhibitions each year. Annually, 700-1000 recent artworks are submitted by artists all over the nation, in all styles and media. The Masur Museum is proud to offer cash awards totaling $3,200.

Announcing this year’s guest juror: Jovanna Venegas
Jovanna Venegas is Assistant Curator of Contemporary Art at the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art. She has worked on public programs and exhibitions at e-flux, the Colección Patricia Phelps de Cisneros, the 11th Gwangju Biennial, and was a curatorial advisor on the U.S./Mexico border region for the 2022 Whitney Biennial. At SFMOMA, she curated Bay Area Walls: Liz Hernández and co-curated New Work: Wu Tsang Presents Moved by the Motion and Shifting the Silence. She is co-curating the SECA Art Award, opening in December 2022. She is currently a lecturer at the California College of the Arts in the Master’s in Curatorial Practice.

Selected Artists: Adriana Ranieri (Tampa, FL), Allison Spence (Tallahassee, FL), Amy Nelder (San Francisco, CA), Anthea Kerou (Palm Beach, FL), Ariane Ahlmann (Brooklyn, NY), Ashley Cecil (Pittsburgh, PA), Barry Goldstein (Statesville, NC), Bo Vine Hawkins (Sacramento, CA), Byron D. King (New Bern, NC), Carey Watters (Milwaukee, WI), Carrol McTyre (Cordova, TN), Cassandra Chalfant (Aurora, CO), Catherine Forster (Olympia, WA), Charles Compo (New York, NY), Christine Sauerteig-Pilaar (Oak Ridge, NJ), Claire Renaut (Seattle, WA), Daniel Myers (West Monroe, LA), Dean Dablow (Ruston, LA), Denise Weaver Ross (Albuquerque, NM), Erik Jon Olson (Plymouth, MN), Erin Dixon (Carrollton, GA), Frank Hamrick (Ruston, LA), Gary Johnson (Fayetteville, AR), Glynn Cartledge (Reno NV), Hayden Phelps (Old Hickory, TN), Isabella Losskarn (Asheville, NC), Itzel Hernandez Leon (Grambling, LA), Jack Straton (Portland, OR), Jeanette Hammerstein (Bloomington, IN), Jeff Bohlander (Keedysville, MD), Jeff Wilson (Austin, TX), John Affolter (Vashon, WA), Jon Malis (Baltimore, MD), Keum-Taek Jung (Starkville, MS), Kevin B. Jones (San Francisco, CA), Kong Ho (Bradford, PA), Laura Klopfenstein (Austin, TX), Laurel Marx (New York, NY), Liz Penniman (Reno, NV), Lori Markman (Sherman Oaks, CA), Lucia Enriquez (Anacortes, WA), Marie Bukowski (Kent, OH), Mary K VanGieson (Cordova, TN), Mary Post (Tyler, TX), Maureen Murray (Westerly, RI), Mehrdad Mirzaie (Temple, AZ), Mia Zheng (Honolulu, HI), Michael Nichols (Bowling Green, KY), Morgan Ford Willingham (Emporia, KS), Nancy Stainton (Monterey, CA), Nick Hobbs (Fayetteville, AR), Nicole Woodard (Kansas City, MO), Nikii Richey (Memphis, TN), Pamela Marks (Quaker Hill, CT), Peter De Pelsmacker (Thousand Oaks, CA), PJ Mills (El Portal, FL), Robert Obier (Baton Rouge, LA), Rozalyn LeCompte (Broussard, LA), Russell U. Richards (Charlottesville, VA), Sally Binard (Key West, FL), Sarah Hazel (Houston, TX), Scott Eakin (Atlanta, GA), Shahnaz Nia (Washington, DC), Sky Pape (New York, NY), Sophy Bevan (Sausalito, CA), Stephen March (Spring Grove, PA), Tatiana Makht (San Jose, CA), Thu Nguyen (Pepeekeo, HI), Tom Attwood (Samford, CT), Trotter Hardy (Williamsburg, VA), William Mark Sommer (Loomis, CA)